Thanks Mojo – The best cover mounted CDs ever!!! Part II – ‘Soul Riot’

MOJO Magazine Issue 93 – August 2001 had the second best mounted CD ever in my opinion – second only to the magical ‘The Score‘ – and it was rightly called ‘Soul Riot’;

Mojo Presents Soul Riot!

Track Artist: Song:
1 Chi-Lites For God’s Sake Give More Power To The People
2 Eddie Floyd Big Bird
3 Staple Singers When Will We Be Paid
4 Booker T & The MG’s Green Onions (Live)
5 Funkadelic Funky Dollar Bill
6 Soul Children Who Is She (Ultimate Version)
7 Johnnie Taylor Please Let Me In
8 Camille Yarbrough Take Yo’ Praise
9 Don Julian Message From A Black Man
10 Eddie Giles Losing Boy
11 Roebuck ‘Pops’ Staples Black Boy
12 Joe Tex You’re Right Ray Charles
13 Sidney Pinchback Soul Strokes
14 Millie Jackson It Hurts So Good
15 Fatback Band (Are You Ready?) Do The Bus Stop
16 Isaac Hayes Ike’s Rap 2
17 William Bell I Forgot To Be Your Lover
18 Sam Dees Why Must I Live In Chains
19 Syl Johnson Is It Because I’m Black
20 Otis Redding (Sittin’ On The) Dock Of The Bay (Take 2)
21 Sly & The Family Stone Luv N’Haight

It is a stellar line-up, made up of familiar classics (in this case a blistering live version of ‘Green Onions’ that seems to be powered by jet fuel, an alt-take on ‘Dock Of The Bay’, and the Portishead / Tricky sampling ‘Ike’s Rap 2’), and some unfamiliar soul gems.

There are so many of these unfamiliar tracks that utterly shine on this compilation. The moody ‘Is it Because I’m Black’ is a bold statement of defiance, a heartfelt plea. ‘Big Bird’, a robust soul stomper dedicated to the memory of the recently deceased Otis Redding, oozes Stax blood, sweat and tears. William Bells ‘I Forgot To Be Your Lover’ is an absolute heartbreak classic, and also provided the backbone and beating heart of the Dilated Peoples hip hop masterpiece ‘Worst Comes To Worst’. Funkadelic bring the fun in funk and the soul onto ‘Funky Dollar Bill’ (“US Dollar Biiilll!!”), and Millie Jacksons lewd, lascivious rasp on ‘It Hurts so Good’ brings a touch of sweet, primal soul to the proceedings. Then there is the simple beauty of Camille Yarbrough’s ‘Take Yo’ Praise’ (heavily borrowed by Fat Boy Slim for ‘Praise You’, and the dignified, stirring protest songs of The Staples Singers and Don Julian.

Finally, the track that ends ‘Soul Riot’ is the track that begins the Sly & The Family Stone opus ‘There’s a Riot Goin’ On‘ – ‘Luv N’ Haight’, in all it’s queasy, quiet beauty. All killer, no filler, “Soul Riot’ is as good a soul compilation as you are going to get, rivalling a lot of the Ace / Kent vinyl compilations of the 1980s. The fact it was a cover mounted CD is testament to the compilers at Mojo, their good taste and their respect for their readers. They even made the CD look like a vinyl record, complete with a funky green label. Bravo Mojo!!!

You can still get the Mojo issue with the CD on occasions at ebay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s